Cyber security news for all

More

    Functional changes in Apple’s Safari browser can cause considerable problems for web apps

    A sudden change in functionality in Apple’s Safari browser can cause serious problems for web apps. The latest version of Safari on iPhone deletes local website storage options automatically, as soon as the user has used the browser without having to interact with the respective web app again.

    Apple has expanded the integrated anti tracking technology with Safari, which now includes a complete blockage of third-party cookies. At the same time, Apple has extended the one week upper limit, which previously existed for first party cookies, to local browser storage options, thereby automatically deleting the storage locations used by websites such as worker registrations.

    It is not the goal of tracking protection to delete data from web apps. Developers affected by data deletion should contact the company immediately. Web apps that iOS users add to the home screen should also have their own independent counter. The use of the app will then reset the timer. Apple has practically deleted web apps that can also work offline. The group is forcing developers to use native apps and thus in the controlled and isolated app store.

    Optionally Switch Off The Function

    It remains unclear whether Safari actually shares the IP addresses of users or whether users continue to be affected. One thing is certain: Even if you have been unwittingly sharing your private data with the corporation for months, you don’t have to continue to do so. The option to warn of dangerous websites can be deactivated in the Safari settings. However, at the same time you do without important protection when surfing the internet and are exposed to potentially dangerous internet offers. Here you have to weigh yourself which options appear safer to you.

    From time to time, Safari downloads an updated list from Google and then does a comparison itself. This list is stored locally on the hard disk and is consulted as soon as a website is called up. Apple makes it clear that Google knows the user’s browsing history. However, what can get into the hands of the companies is the public IP address of the user, as this is required to call up the fraud warning list.

    Recent Articles

    Unclear cyber attacks that target Covid-19 vaccine campaign

    Security researchers have discovered some cyber attacks that are targeted against the delivery of vaccine against COVID. The targeted attacks began in 2 months...

    New malware called Egregor is on the rise

    New malware is on the rise. The Egregor malware has only been in active for 2 months, but it is already becoming apparent that...

    Anyone with a smartphone can become a victim of cyber-mobbing

    Cyber-mobbing is becoming a huge risk in the current COVID crisis. According to a study, almost 20 percent of students in Germany are exposed...

    macOS Trojans: Traces lead to Vietnam

    Security researchers have discovered a new macOS Trojans. Behind this could be a well known hacker group that has spied on Vietnamese dissidents in...

    Court forces Tutanota to perform a surveillance function

    Tutanota email only stores its user mails in encrypted form and cannot read them itself. Tutanota is one of the few email providers that...

    Related Stories

    Leave A Reply

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox